High: °
Low: °
Chance of precipitation:


Saturday, April 21 News

Music students accepted into all state ensembles from Ludlowe and Warde

The Fairfield Ludlowe and Fairfield Warde High School music departments have announced the selection of several students by the 2014 Connecticut Music Educators Association for the All-State Music Festival.

They are: Fairfield Ludlowe band students Alex Barker, Nicole Bilotto, Eric Derwallis, Davey Hawthorne, Steve McArdle, Peter Nesbitt and Matt Reich; orchestra students Ben Crosby, Bryan Page and Jeffrey Pearson; choir students Jeffrey Dutter, Sofia Wall and Kevin Warten; and Liam Farrell from the school's Jazz Ensemble.

Students from Fairfield Warde High School are band students Max Moon, Ryan Blue, Liam Russell and Joe Sugrue; orchestra students Matt Oster, Sagar Gulati, George Wang and Andrew Paik; choir members Evelynne Fulda, Dylan O'Brien, Melissa Wasserman, Zachary Roberge and Madison Rackear; and Connor Levinson from the FWHS Jazz Ensemble.

The students will spend two full days in rehearsals rehearsing and performing with top collegiate and professional conductors from around the U.S. to prepare for a concert featuring all ensembles at the Bushnell Center for Performing Arts in Hartford on April 5.

Students had to audition for and perform in the Western Region festival in January and pass a second round of auditions in February to select the top musicians from the four regions in Connecticut. Students who are accepted into the All-State festival have consistently demonstrated a high degree of musicianship and technical facility.

Tickets for the annual festival concert may be purchased at the door.