High:
Low:
Wind:
Chance of precipitation:

Forecast

close
Monday, September 23 Sports

Pair of early MAAC road games part of Jay Young’s first season at Fairfield

The conference portion of Jay Young’s first season at the helm of the Fairfield University men’s basketball team will begin with a road trip with games at Niagara on Jan. 3 and at Canisius on Jan. 5, the school announced as it unveiled its full schedule Friday.

Young’s conference home opener is on Jan. 8 against.Marist.

There will be another challenging set of back-to-back road games later that month when the Stags face defending conference tournament champion Iona on Jan. 17 and a week later play at Quinnipiac.

Fairfield will play eight of the first 14 conference games on the road but there will be a stretch of four straight home games from Feb. 21 through Mar. 1.

The season opener will be on Nov. 5 against a 21-win Bucknell team and the highlight of the non-conference portion of the schedule will be a Nov. 19 trip to face a Maryland team coming off a 23-11 season, followed by a visit to the Orlando area to play USC on Nov. 28. The next day, the Stags have a matchup against Davidson or Marquette before wrapping up play in the ESPN Orlando Invitational on Dec. 1.

Young, a former head coach at the University of New Haven, comes to Fairfield after assistant coach stints at Stony Brook and Rutgers.

Fairfield loset wo of its three double-digit scorers from the 2018-19 season as Jonathan Kasibabu has graduated and Neftali Alvarez transferred to Mercer.

2019-20 SCHEDULE

 Tue. Nov. 5 vs. Bucknell

 Sat. Nov. 9 vs. UMass

 Tue. Nov. 12 at Holy Cross

 Sun. Nov. 17 at Loyola (MD)

 Tue. Nov. 19 at Maryland

 Thu. Nov. 28 vs. USC at ESPN Orlando Invitational, 4 p.m.

 Fri. Nov. 29 vs. Davidson or Marquette at ESPN Orlando Invitational

 Sun. Dec. 1 opponent TBA at ESPN Orlando Invitational

 Dec. 8 vs. William & Mary

 Dec. 21 at Oakland

 Dec. 28 at Wagner

 Fri. Jan. 3 at Niagara

 Sun. Jan. 5 at Canisius

 Wed. Jan. 8 Marist

 Fri. Jan. 10 Manhattan

 Wed. Jan. 15 Saint Peter’s

 Fri. Jan. 17 at Iona

 Fri. Jan. 24 at Quinnipiac

 Sun. Jan. 26 Canisius

 Fri. Jan. 31 at Rider

 Tue. Feb. 4 Monmouth

 Fri. Feb. 7 at Siena

 Sun. Feb. 9 Iona

 Fri. Feb. 14 at Marist

 Sun. Feb. 16 at Saint Peter’s

 Fri. Feb. 21 Niagara

 Sun. Feb. 23 Siena

 Fri. Feb. 28 Quinnipiac

 Sun. Mar. 1 Rider

 Wed. Mar. 4 at Monmouth

 Fri. Mar. 6 at Manhattan

loading